44 New Members Honored at WSCC Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Induction Ceremony

Posted by on in News
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 2900
  • Print

Washington State Community College (WSCC) is proud to announce 44 new members of the Alpha Rho Gamma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. An induction ceremony was held on November 21st in the Graham Auditorium at WSCC to welcome the newest members of the organization. Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) is an honor society for students attending 2-year colleges. Members of PTK are recognized for their academic achievements and are encouraged to develop leadership skills that will help them later in life. In addition to these benefits, PTK also offers scholarships for members. The scholarships offered to PTK members total over 37 million dollars and can be used at colleges and universities across the country. Members of PTK are also taught the importance of civic outreach and taking the time to help your local community.

20131125 ptk-treadwayIn the past, the WSCC chapter of PTK has helped with many volunteer initiatives and civic organizations including the YMCA, Marietta Memorial Hospital, the Humane Society, Habitat for Humanity, Eve – the shelter for battered women, Empty Bowls – the food pantry, and many others. In the past year, PTK raised over $10,000 for Relay for Life. The new members of PTK at WSCC will continue the community service that the area has come to expect from the honor society. Brad Merritt, associate professor at WSCC and PTK advisor, stressed that being a member of PTK may look good on a resume, but it is about much more than that. He hopes that members will learn how to become Servant-Leaders in the community.

The following students were welcomed into the honor society at the induction ceremony: Natasha Adkins, Lauren Ash, Paula Bailey, Kayleigh Baker, Kristin Berry, Michael Beverlin, Troy Carpenter, Maeghen Chamberlin, Jacqueline Compton, Jessica Layer-Crosby, Katharine Davis, Hunter Deem, Vince Dobrski, Lacey Dotson, Samantha Dulaney, Molly Dunlap, Eric Fliehman, Nichole Hutchinson, Angela Hutson, Brandi Johnson, Mary Johnson, Janna King, Ronald Kuhn, Laura Smith-Lookabaugh, Caitlyn Markay, Alaina McGowan, Clyde Miller, Rachel Mureiko, Chelisa Murphy, Alisha Ollom, Jane Osborne, Carley Powell, Mikayla Pruney, Cameron Quick, Sarah Robinson, Kaitlyn Seevers, Sydney Stanley, Emily Bolon-Stoller, Bhrett Summers, Tammy Williamson, Buffy Wiseman, and Kathryn Wright. WSCC employee Faye Treadway, was also welcomed to the honor society as an honorary member for her untiring support to PTK. Faye has been a dedicated employee for over 18 years. Congratulations to all of the new PTK members!

20131125 ptk-fall-group

Tagged in: PTK
You are here: Home About Media Relations Latest News kinetic 44 New Members Honored at WSCC Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Induction Ceremony


email-icon-blue CONTACT US

  • Washington State Community College
  • 710 Colegate Drive
  • Marietta, Ohio 45750 USA
  • 740.374-8716
  • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.