Successful completion of the 45 hour Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission's (OPOTC) certified Firearms Academy program provides the state required training necessary to apply for a ccw permit and a firearms certification from the OH Department of Public Safety. Graduates will also receive a certificate of completion from the OH Peace Officer Training Commission and Washington State Community College and 1 semester hour of college credit. Training is provided by OPOTC certified firearms instructors and range safety officers. Instructors consist of those who already teach firearms in the Peace Officer Basic Academy, are active and retired law enforcement officers, and have many years experience in law enforcement and as firearms instructors.
Many of the students who completed this training spoke very highly of it and felt it was well worth the cost. Some of their testimonials appeared in recent media coverage. Class size is limited and is filled on a first come, first served basis.
The academy's 45 hours of state mandated training will next be held:
- Session 3 - May 4 (classroom), 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
- Session 4 - May 3 (classroom), 4, 10, 17, 18, 31
Classroom times are 8AM to 6:30PM
All range times are 8AM to 3:30PM
Training will include the handling and use of the following weapons:
- Semi automatic pistol
This program is primarily intended for graduates of our Private Security Academy but is available to eligible members of the public as space allows.
Requirements for admittance into our Firearms Academy are:
Must be 18 years of age or older
Complete Washington State application process
Complete OPOTC's application process
Attend the mandatory orientation/ information session held before each session
In order to receive state certification upon successfully completing the training, you must submit to and pass a background check with the OH Department of Public Safety
As of 06/01/2013, this is a 1 semester hour credit course which is currently $136 for in state students, $272 for out of state students. There is a student fee in addition to the tuition of $260. These prices are subject to change. Those interested need to register for college classes at Washington State (online or in person), then see John Burdette to register for the course. Financial aid is available for eligible, degree-seeking students to cover these costs.
Attendance and participation throughout the Academy is demanding and mandatory. Students must provide their own ammunition (400 rounds for semi auto pistol, 300 rounds for revolver, 50 rounds of 00-buck for shotgun), eye and ear protection, ball caps and holsters for both the semi- auto pistol and revolver. Those bringing their own weapons may use any calibre handgun and any gauge shotgun they may have access to. We have Glock .40 cal, Smith & Wesson .38 handguns and Remington 12 ga. shotguns available for a daily rental fee. Appropriate outerwear for training at the outdoor range is necessary. All students are required to attend an orientation session.
Contact to learn more:
John Burdette, Director
Center for Public Safety Training
740-374-8716 Extension 1540